Back to Top

Circulation Policy

The University Library is open to everyone. According to Colorado State Law C.R. 24-90-119, the name of the borrower of library materials cannot be released to anyone except with a court order. 

Borrowing Policies

Colorado State University-Pueblo Undergraduate Students

Colorado State University-Pueblo students with a valid student ID may check out an unlimited number of books and government documents for a four-week period and audiovisual materials for a one-week period from the University Library. Materials may be renewed up to 3 times by phone, online, and in person. Periodicals, with the exception of current issues, may be checked out for 48 hours and may not be renewed. Library materials are subject to recall after 14 days or 2 weeks.

The Prospector system provides borrowing from state and regional libraries, and allows up to 70 requests at a given time. Items are loaned for 6 weeks for all patrons, with occasional 1 week loans for items from Pascal and select media items. If all copies of a specific title are checked out, a hold may be placed, but items may not be recalled.

When items are placed on hold and checked out through our shared online catalog with CSU Ft. Collins Morgan Library, loan periods are: 4 weeks for undergraduates, 6 months for graduate students, faculty and staff. Items may be renewed for up to 3 times by patrons at both institutions. 

Students must use their own ID to check out materials and are responsible for any material checked out on their ID card. In the event an ID card is lost or stolen the student must report this immediately to the Circulation staff. A staff member will place a block on the ID, so that no additional materials can be checked out on it and no fines charged against it. 

Colorado State University-Pueblo Faculty, Administrative Staff, Classified Staff, and Graduate Students

Faculty, administrative staff, classified staff, and graduate students with proper identification may check out books for a 6-month checkout period, both locally and through the shared catalog with CSU Ft. Collins. Audiovisual materials may be borrowed for a one-week period. Materials may be renewed up to three (3) times by phone, online, and in person. Bound periodicals, with the exception of current issues, may be checked out for 48 hours and may not be renewed. Library materials are subject to recall after 14 days, or 2 weeks.

The Prospector system provides borrowing from state and regional libraries, and allows up to 70 requests at a given time. Items are loaned for 6 weeks, though some audiovisual materials may have more limited loan periods, usually of 1 week, with no renewals. If all copies of a specific title are checked out, a hold may be placed, but items may not be recalled.

Community Patrons

Community members are welcome to check out materials at the University Library. They may check out 4 items with a valid driver’s license. Books and government documents check out for 4 weeks and audiovisual materials check out for 1 week with renewal privileges. Materials may be renewed up to 3 times by phone, online, and in person. Library materials are subject to recall after 14 days or 2 weeks.

Colorado Library Collaborates (CLC)

Colorado Library Collaborates (CLC) is a program that allows walk-in patrons to check out materials from any participating library in the state. Patrons with the proper identification may check out up to 4 items. Books and government documents may be checked out for 4 weeks and audiovisual materials for 1 week with renewal privileges.

In Pueblo, a public library card is also a (CLC) card. CSU-Pueblo students may use their official CSU-Pueblo ID card to check out library materials at all participating libraries in Colorado. 

CSU-Pueblo LID Card (LID)

The University Library also offers community patrons the option of purchasing a Library ID (LID) card for $5.00, which allows the patron to check out up to 10 items. The LID card also offers a patron Prospector and interlibrary loan privileges and computer and printing privileges when money is added to the card at the Card Value machine in the Library. To purchase an LID card the patron must fill out an application form at the circulation desk.

Recalls

All materials except reserve items are subject to recall for use by another patron. All patrons can use an item for a minimum of 14 days. When the item is recalled, the patron has up to 10 days to return the item, unless it is already overdue; then the item must be returned immediately. Recalled items not returned within the appropriate recall dates are subject to fines of .25 cents a day.

Recalls cannot be placed on Prospector items.

If items are recalled by CSU Ft. Collins’ Library, the patron has up to 10 days to return the item. 

Library Materials: Overdue Fines

All CSU-Pueblo materials are subject to the following fines.

Book and government document fines are .25 cents per day for each overdue item. Once an item is two weeks overdue, fines will begin accumulating. Faculty and staff are not charged daily fines for books and government documents, although they are required to pay for lost materials. The maximum overdue fine for books and government documents is $20.00 per item.

Audiovisual fines are $1.00 per day. NO patron is immune from audiovisual fines. The maximum overdue fine for audiovisual materials is $35.00 per item.

Periodical fines are $.50 per day. NO patron isimmune from periodical fines. The maximum overdue fine for periodicals is $20.00.

Reserve fines are $1.00 for the first hour and .50 cents for each succeeding hour. The maximum fine for reserve items is $100.00.

Library equipment fines are $1.00 for the first hour and $.50 for each succeeding hour. See the complete Library Equipment Checkout Policy for more information. Library patrons will receive three overdue notices, a final overdue notice, and a billing notice. Final overdue notices for all patrons are sent when an item is 70 days overdue.

Faculty, staff, and students who accrue fines of $100.00 or over, will lose their general circulation privileges until the fine is paid. Community patrons are assessed the same fines as students. Library privileges of community patrons are automatically blocked until fines are paid and/or materials returned. Fines totaling $20.00 or more are also placed on accounts receivable. Once library fines are placed on accounts receivable, these fines can block class registration and graduation if they are not paid.

Lost and Damaged Library Materials

CSU-Pueblo Library

Overdue books that are not returned are considered lost. A billing notice is sent approximately 3 weeks after the final overdue notice is sent. The billing notice is the last notice generated, and encumbers the patron with the CSU-Pueblo Accounting Office for the cost of replacing the item. If the charge has been paid for a lost item and the item is later returned within 60 days of payment, the money will be refunded or credited to the patron’s account at the Accounting Office, minus a processing fee of $15.00. If the item is returned after 60 days, no refund will be given. 

The patron who loses or irreparably damages a book will be given the choice of paying the lost book charge of $100.00 or providing a replacement copy, preferably brand new or in nearly new condition, of the book subject to the approval of the Acquisitions/ERM Librarian. It must be given to the library within sixty days of receipt of the missing book notice. If a patron chooses the replacement option, a $15.00 processing fee will be charged. The Acquisitions/ERM Librarian will select an acceptable replacement when the money is paid, if a book is no longer in print. 

If a government document is lost or irreparably damaged, the patron will be charged a processing fee of $15.00.

In the event that periodical issues or bound volumes are lost, the patron will be charged a fee equal to the replacement cost for the periodical. Lost periodicals will be treated the same as lost books with an initial fee of $100.00 until the actual replacement cost can be determined. In some cases, if the volume or issue is older, it will need to be replaced by microfilm or microfiche. If a periodical is returned damaged, we will charge a minimum $15.00 processing fee or a replacement cost if the item is unusable. The Acquisitions/ERM Librarian will evaluate the damage and determine if it can be fixed and still usable or if it will need to be replaced and she will also determine the cost of replacement. 

The charge for lost or damaged audiovisual materials is the current library replacement cost as determined by the Acquisitions/ERM Librarian. See the complete Library Equipment Checkout Policy for more information on lost or damaged equipment fees.

Faculty, staff, and students who accrue a lost book fee of $100.00, will lose their general circulation privileges until the fine is paid. Library privileges of community patrons are automatically blocked until fines are paid and/or materials returned.

Ft. Collins Morgan Library

When a patron loses/damages a book from CSU Ft. Collins, the preferred procedure is to submit a new copy for replacement. This is in lieu of charging a replacement fee. Replacement copies must be in new or like-new condition. A bill/replacement processing fee of $5.00 will be charged. This will be strictly adhered to, and payment for a lost/damaged book will only be allowed on rare occasions, as approved by Ft. Collins.

Replacement billing of long overdue items is incurred at 70 days (25 days on 7 day loans), at $85.00 replacement charge + $15.00 processing fee. Replacement charges are credited if the billed item is returned and checked in.

Prospector

Replacement copies in excellent condition are required by nearly all Colorado Prospector participating libraries. The replacement charge for lost Prospector materials from non-Colorado libraries is $120.00. Replacement charges for bound journals from Pascal (storage) are set at $400 and items borrowed from The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) can be as high as $1000.

Interlibrary Loan

Lost or damaged materials fees for Interlibrary Loan materials are addressed in the Interlibrary Loan Borrowing Policy, and vary according to the policies of the lending library which provided the item. 

Patron charges for lost items (including Ft. Collins, Prospector, and interlibrary loan materials) are automatically placed on accounts receivable at the CSU-Pueblo Accounting Office. Fines totaling $20.00 or more are also placed on accounts receivable. Once library fines are placed on accounts receivable, these fines can block class registration and graduation if they are not paid.

Approved 8/2015/rg
Back to Top