Back to Top

Colorado State University Pueblo 2021-2022 Faculty Award Winners Announced

Release Date: April 20, 2022

Greg Hoye

Executive Director

Marketing, Communications, Community Relations

(719) 549-2284

LARC building front and fountain

Pueblo— Colorado State University Pueblo announced the winners of the faculty recognition awards during the annual Employee Recognition and Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, April 20 in the Occhiato Student Center Ballroom.

ASG Students Choice Award

The winner of the Associated Students’ Government Student’s Choice Award is Matthew Lobato, lecturer in the Department of English and World Languages.

The following employees were also nominated for this honor:

  • Amaya Garcia Costas, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Krista Bridgemon, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Counseling Psychology
  • Lee Anne Martinez, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Biology
  • Richard Farrer, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Physical Chemistry, Chemistry
  • Alegria Ribadeneira, Ph.D., Professor, Director of World Languages, Assistant, Chair for English and World Languages
  • Priscilla Brenes, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, School of Health Sciences and Human Movement
  • Ginny Bayes, Visiting Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Karen Krepps, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Education
  • Karen Marley, Senior Lecturer, School of Health Sciences and Human Movement
  • Kevin Duncan, Ph.D., Professor of Economics, Hasan School of Business
  • Lynn Knight, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Teacher Education, School of Education
  • Matthew Lobato, Lecturer, English
  • Molly Cotner, Adjunct Faculty, Sociology 
  • Heather Hopkins Bowers, Lecturer, English/World Languages
  • Matthew Garcia, Assistant Professor, School of Creativity and Practice 

Faculty Awards for Excellence

CSU Pueblo awards faculty members who display excellence in the fields of teaching, scholarly creative activity, service, advising/mentoring, non-tenure-track faculty and adjunct faculty. Department chairs are eligible but academic administrators such as deans, directors, and the provost are not eligible. 

The following individuals earned a Faculty Award for Excellence for the 2021-22 school year:

  • Brad Gilbreath, Ph.D., Professor of Management is the recipient of this year’s Faculty Excellence Award in Teaching and Student Learning Award.
  • MD Islam, Ph.D., Professor in Civil Engineering Technology, received the Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activity Award.
  • Claire Ramos, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biology, is this year’s recipient of the Excellence in Advising and Student Mentoring Award. 
  • Lynn Knight, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the School of Education was honored with the Excellence in Service Award.
  • Jackie Stroud, Lecturer of History and Chicano Studies received the Excellence in Non-Tenure Track Teaching Award.
  • Kay Wakefield, Adjunct Professor for the Hasan School of Business, received the Excellence in Adjunct Teaching Award.

Outstanding Faculty Member Awards

Each college on campus annually honors one faculty member with the Outstanding Faculty Member Award. This award recognizes the contributions of faculty to CSU Pueblo and is a testament to their successful management of teaching, research, and service. 

The following individuals were honored as Outstanding Faculty Members: 

  • In the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, this year’s Outstanding Faculty Member is Kevin Van Winkle, Ph.D., Assistant Professor and Director of Rhetoric, Composition, and Technical Communication.
  • The College of Health, Education, and Nursing has chosen Tina Twilleger, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the School of Health Sciences and Human Movement as its Outstanding Faculty Member.
  • In the College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, the Outstanding Faculty Member is Matt Cranswick, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry.
  • The Hasan School of Business has chosen He-Boong Kwon, Ph.D., Interim Associate Dean and Professor of Management as its Outstanding Faculty Member.
  • From the University Library, the Outstanding Faculty Member is Betsy Schippers, Assistant Professor of Library Services and Research and User Services, Coordinator.

Discover CSU Pueblo

students studying in LARC

Request more information about our degree programs, activities, sports, application process, and more!

Request Information

Register for Classes

two students smiling

Attend an Enrollment Extravaganza for quick-and-easy, one-stop registration and a chance to win a scholarship!

Back to Top