Back to Top

2017 Math Day Competition Results

Release Date: November 17, 2017

Cora Zaletel

Executive Director, External Affairs

Colorado State University-Pueblo


Colorado State University-Pueblo Announces 2017 Math Day Competition Results

PUEBLO - The Department of Mathematics and Physics at Colorado State University-Pueblo has announced the results from the 40th Annual Math Day Swanson and Math Bowl competitions, held on campus Thursday, Nov. 16. More than 200 students from 18 high schools participated in Math Day activities, including Antonito, Coronado, Cripple Creek/Victor, Crowley County, D70-Online, Doherty, Ellicott, Liberty, Pine Creek, Pueblo Centennial, Pueblo County, Pueblo East, Pueblo West, Rocky Ford, Rye, South, Swallows Charter, and Swink. In addition to participating in the competitions, students were able to visit biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, and physiology laboratories and demonstrations.

The Swanson Competition was named after Clarence Swanson, a long-time chair of the math department.  The in-depth, problem-solving, written test offers students from Southern Colorado high schools the opportunity to vie for six trophies.  Of the 191 students to take the exam, the top six contestants are listed below in rank order with the highest listed first followed by the student’s high school:

  1. Titus Sharman  -  Coronado High School
  2. Kyle Ma  -  Pine Creek High School
  3. Betty Niu  -  Ellicott High School
  4. Jennifer Yates  -  Liberty High School
  5. Abby Shrack  -  Pine Creek High School
  6. Levi Collins  -  Swink High School

The following Swanson Competition contestants earned honorable mention.  The students are listed by home town, then alphabetically by high schools:

Colorado Springs

  • Austin Crawford  -  Coronado High School
  • Bryan Becar  -  Doherty High School
  • Cassidy Dunnells  -  Doherty High School
  • Sun Lee  -  Doherty High School
  • Quinn Ruddy  -  Doherty High School
  • Trey Venners  -  Liberty High School
  • Claudia Chen  -  Pine Creek High School
  • Ethan Kirkby  -  Pine Creek High School
  • Angel Wang  -  Pine Creek High School

Pueblo County

  • Joli Dou  -  Centennial High School
  • Gabe Slade  -  Rye High School
  • Connor Voss  -  Rye High School

Cripple Creek/Victor

  • Cheyenne Walinski  -  Cripple Creek-Victor High School

The Math Bowl Competition requires two three-person teams to go head-to-head in a 15-minute race for points.  Each team alternately is given a mathematical question and has 25 seconds to respond.  The team with the most points then goes to the semi-final round to determine the winner. Winning teams proceed through the bracket to the final round.

The 2017 Math Bowl winner is Coronado, featuring team members Austin Crawford, Rygar Schyberg, and Titus Sharman.  Rye placed second with team members Emma Lesser, Gabe Slade, and Parker Brown.  Semifinalists were Swink with team members Cole Stanger, Rico Carale, and Levi Collins, and Pueblo County with team members Diego Duran, Troy Baski, and Aaron Quizon. Consolation went to Pine Creek High School with team members Angel Wang, Claudia Chen, and Kyle Ma.


Colorado State University-Pueblo is committed to excellence, setting the standard for regional comprehensive universities in teaching, research, and service by providing leadership and access for its region, while maintaining its commitment to diversity.

Discover CSU Pueblo

students studying in LARC

Request more information about our degree programs, activities, sports, application process, and more!

Request Information

Register for Classes

two students smiling

Attend an Enrollment Extravaganza for quick-and-easy, one-stop registration and a chance to win a scholarship!

Back to Top