Back to Top

2020-21 CSU Pueblo Staff Award Winners Revealed

Release Date: June 30, 2021

Sean Pooley

Academic Affairs Marketing Coordinator

Marketing Communications & Community Relations


Employee  Awards Reception

Colorado State University Pueblo recognized staff members and announced award winners at the University’s annual Employee Awards Reception Tuesday June 29 in the Occhiato Student Center ballroom.

 These staff awards were created to honor classified and professional staff who go above and beyond throughout the academic year. Employees were nominated by other campus community members.

Outstanding Classified Staff Award

Mary Sandoval, Administrative Assistant III Teacher Education Program, won the Outstanding Classified Staff Award. The following employees also received a nomination for this award:

  • David Bartolo, IT Professional/ Database Administrator/ Programmer Analyst

  • Eleanor Casares, Administrative Assistant II, Extended Studies

  • Lynnette Leachman, Assistant to the Dean of the College of Health Education and Nursing

  • Makenna Rademaker, Administrative Assistant III, Exercise Science & Health Promotion

Outstanding Professional Staff Award

 Brianna Moorman, Student Information Systems Analyst, received the Outstanding Professional Staff Award. These employees were also nominated for this honor:

  • Carol Daugherty, Director, Student Health Services

  • Devin Hart, Director of Sports Medicine

  •  Denise Henry, Instructional Technologist

  • Ryan Kendall, Admissions Counselor

  • Laurie Kilpatrick, Director of Parking and Safety

  • Emily McElwain, Director of Student Recreation

  • Shelly Moreschini, Administrative Director, Center for Honors and Leadership

  • Aolany Navas-Griggs, Academic Success Coach

  • Korine New, Fort Carson Student Services Coordinator

  • Chad Pickering, Director of Gen Ed Tutoring Center/ Writing Center

  • Donna Souder Hodge, Executive Director of Organizational Development/ Chief Strategy Officer

 Students’ Choice Award

Marie Humphrey, Senior Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, was honored as the Students’ Choice Award Winner for staff.

In addition to the staff recognition awards, CSU Pueblo honored the employees who reached milestones in their years of service with the University Service Awards.

Five Years of Service

Lori Blasé, Bill Bencini, Heather Cornell, Chris Cowart, Michelle Gurule, Ryan Kendall, Marisa Nava Nunn, Sean Pooley, Michael Rieger, Anthony Ruggiero, Betsy Schippers, Kayleigh Travierso and Jacob Varela all commemorated their five years of service to CSU Pueblo.

Ten Years of Service

Vicki Becker, Chris Fendrich, Shawn Gibson, John Herrera, Josh Medina, Cheryl Mincic, Victoria Obregon and Michael Simons celebrated their 10 years of service to CSU Pueblo.

Fifteen Years of Service

Rick Farrer, Stephen Hodge, Juan Morales, Deb Proctor, John Sandoval and Kevin Walda were recognized for their 15 years of service to CSU Pueblo.

Twenty Years of Service

William Brown, Carol Foust, Nebojsa Jaksic, Margie Massey, Tim McGettigan, Dennis Moore, Christine Rochester, Veronica Santisteven and Michael Wakefield all commemorated their 20 years of service to CSU Pueblo.

Twenty-five Years of Service

Helen Caprioglio, Louis Minatta, Brenda Trujillo-Aranda and Geraldine Trujillo-Martinez each celebrated 25 years of service to the University.

Thirty Years of Service

Paul Chacon, Denise Cordova, Sam Ebersole, Theresa Jimenez, Jennifer Torres, and Jonathon Valdez all commemorated their 30 years of service to CSU Pueblo.

Forty Years of Service

Judy Baca and Paul Wallace were both recognized for their 40 years of service to CSU Pueblo.


CSU Pueblo celebrated the careers of the following employees who retired in the 2020-21 school year:

Susan Benesch, Sandra Bonetti, Anthony Bonfiglio, Carmela Bueno, Mel Druelinger, Sam Ebersole Scott Eriksen, William Folkestad, Louis Minatta, Dennis Moore, Deon Murray, Deb Proctor, Leroy Sanchez, Mark Vivoda and Cat Walkup.

Discover CSU Pueblo

students studying in LARC

Request more information about our degree programs, activities, sports, application process, and more!

Request Information

Register for Classes

two students smiling

Attend an Enrollment Extravaganza for quick-and-easy, one-stop registration and a chance to win a scholarship!

Back to Top