Back to Top
  • CAMPUS CLOSED on Monday, May 27


    All CSU Pueblo campus locations are closed on May 27 in observance of Memorial Day. Essential services will remain open.

CSU Pueblo Faculty Award Winners Announced

Release Date: June 30, 2021

Sean Pooley

Academic Affairs Marketing Coordinator

Marketing Communications & Community Relations


Faculty Award Winners

Colorado State University Pueblo announced its Faculty Award winners for the 2020-21 school year.

“The Faculty are the soul of the institution and the engine that drives student learning and success, enriches our community and society with their teaching and student mentoring, scholarship and service,” said CSU Pueblo Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Mohamed Abdelrahman. 

Faculty Awards for Excellence

Every year CSU Pueblo bestows an award to the faculty members who best display excellence in the fields of teaching, scholarly creative activity, service, advising/mentoring, non-tenure track faculty, and adjunct faculty. Department chairs are eligible but academic administrators such as deans, provost and directors are not eligible. The following individuals earned Faculty awards for the 2020-21 school year:

  • George Dallam, Professor in the Exercise Science, Health Promotion, and Recreation Department won the award for Scholarship/ Creative Activity.

  • Ruth DePalma, Professor and Undergraduate Nursing Program Coordinator in the School of Nursing was bestowed the award for Service.

  •  Tim Peters, Professor in the Education Department, claimed the award for Advising/Mentoring.

  • Vicki Piquette, Adjunct Professor in the Education Department, won the award for Part-time Adjunct Professor.

  • Jason Saphara, Director of Faculty Development in the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences received the award for Non-tenure Track (Lecturer or visiting professor).

  • Karen Yescavage, Professor of Psychology in the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences won the award for Teaching / Student Learning.

Outstanding Faculty Awards

Each college on campus annually bestows an Outstanding Faculty Award to a professor for their contributions to CSU Pueblo and the way they successfully balance the teaching, research and service components. Here are the award winners for each college: 

  • Colleen Hackett, a Professor in the Department of Sociology, Criminology and Anthropology won the Outstanding Faculty Award for the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.

  • MD Islam, Professor and Civil Engineering Technology Program Coordinator received the Outstanding Faculty Award for the College of STEM.

  • Roberto Mejias, Professor of Computer Information Systems was recognized with the Outstanding Faculty Award for the Hasan School of Business.

  • Jenny Piazza, Professor of Education won the Outstanding Faculty Award for the College of Health, Education, and Nursing.

  • Alexis Wolstein, Assistant Professor of Library Services, was honored as the Outstanding Faculty Award for the Library.

  • Alegria Ribadeneira, Professor and Director of World Languages, was voted as the Students’ Choice Award for Faculty. Ribadeneira also earned the 2021 CSU Pueblo Distinguished Professor Award.

“It is an honor to serve alongside with the accomplished faculty members at CSU Pueblo. I am proud of the accomplishments of these faculty members being recognized this year with awards of excellence in teaching, advising, scholarship and service at the university level as well as college levels.” Abdelrahman said.

CSU Pueblo honored these award recipients annual Employee Awards Reception Tuesday June 29..These employees will also be recognized during the fall semester.

Discover CSU Pueblo

students studying in LARC

Request more information about our degree programs, activities, sports, application process, and more!

Request Information

Register for Classes

two students smiling

Attend an Enrollment Extravaganza for quick-and-easy, one-stop registration and a chance to win a scholarship!

Back to Top