Back to Top

Derrick Williams Honored with Threlkeld Prize for Excellence as Top Senior

Release Date: May 03, 2019

Amber Shipley

Communications & Events Manager

CSU-Pueblo Foundation

(719) 549-2380

Derrick Williams Headshot

Colorado State University-Pueblo has named Derrick Williams as the 2019 recipient of the Threlkeld Prize for Excellence. The six finalists were selected from a pool of candidates compiled from nominations by CSU-Pueblo faculty and staff from various University departments. Williams was announced as the winner of the Threlkeld Prize for Excellence at the Student Involvement and Leadership Awards ceremony on Wednesday, April 24 at the Occhiato Student Center Ballroom.

Named after the late Budge Threlkeld, a former administrator and professor, the award is presented to a graduating senior who demonstrates excellence in academic and co-curricular activities as well as in service to the University and to the community. The Threlkeld winner will receive a stipend as well as the first diploma during Commencement Ceremonies on Saturday, May 4 at CSU-Pueblo’s Massari Arena.

Derrick Williams, Columbia Falls, MT, will graduate summa cum laude (3.99 GPA) with both a bachelor of science and a master of science in biology. Derrick ran in Track and Field and Cross Country and was team captain from 2014 through 2018. Derrick was awarded the Colorado State University-Pueblo Athlete of the Year and the Spank Blasing Track and Field Athlete of the Year, is a two-time Summit award winner, five-time RMAC Runner of the Year, three-time NCAA Division 2 Elite 90 Award winner, All-American and All-District Academic award winner. Derrick served as a student employee in the CSU-Pueblo Foundation and as a workshop teacher for Upward Bound at Pueblo Community College during his tenure at CSU-Pueblo.

The six other finalists for the Threlkeld Prize for Excellence included:

Brandon Bayer, Pueblo, will graduate magna cum laude (3.9 GPA) with a degree in biology  (Biomedical Science), a minor in chemistry and a minor in leadership studies. Brandon is a member of the President’s Leadership Program and was selected as the 2019 Colorado Leadership Alliance Leader of the Year. Brandon was also a member of the Associated Students’ Government, the Tribeta Biology Honor Society and the first student to serve on the CSU-Pueblo Foundation Board of Trustees. Brandon was a Kane Family Foundation Scholar during his career at CSU-Pueblo and has worked as a Patient Attendant and Rehabilitation Technician at Parkview Medical Center and an Orthopedic Technologist at the Hanson Clinic in Pueblo West.

Kyleigh Bloyd, Colorado Springs, will graduate summa cum laude (4.0 grade point average) in May with a degree in mathematics with a secondary education emphasis and a minor in leadership studies. Bloyd is a member of the President’s Leadership Program, Associated Students’ Government, Campus Crusade for Christ, Pueblo County Rotaract, Colorado Leadership Alliance Board and is an intern in the El Pomar Foundation Emerging Leaders Development Program.

Lanae Long, Pueblo, will graduate magna cum laude (3.94 GPA) with a degree in liberal studies. Long is a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success and the Teacher Pipeline Project. Long has volunteered with the Beulah Heights Elementary School basketball team and Fellowship of the Rockies on a project to combat human trafficking. Additionally, Lanae spent two months teaching English and working with at-risk children in three different regions of Thailand.

Yamel Ramirez Morales, Pueblo, will graduate magna cum laude (3.8 GPA) with degrees in psychology and Spanish. Ramirez is a member of the Psi Chi International Honor Society in Psychology and Sigma Delta Pi National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society and the National Society of Leadership and Success. Yamel interned in the Pueblo County Economic Development and Geographic Information Systems Office developing maps of underserved high school students and transportation in Pueblo County.

David Salay, Pueblo West, will graduate magna cum laude (3.9 GPA) in May with a degree in computer information systems and a minor in leadership studies. David is a member of the President’s Leadership Program, Beta Gamma Sigma International Business Honor Society and Upsilon Pi Epsilon Computer and Information Science Honor Society. David started his own IT firm in 2016 and provides a full-spectrum of computer repair, system implementation and website design. Salay was the Thomas V. Healy Center for Business and Economic Research social media oversight lead team member and is a help desk technician for CSU-Pueblo.


Discover CSU Pueblo

students studying in LARC

Request more information about our degree programs, activities, sports, application process, and more!

Request Information

Register for Classes

two students smiling

Attend an Enrollment Extravaganza for quick-and-easy, one-stop registration and a chance to win a scholarship!

Back to Top