Back to Top

CSU-Pueblo to honor outstanding teachers at March 2 event

Release Date: February 14, 2017

Cora Zaletel

Executive Director, External Affairs

Colorado State University-Pueblo


Press Release

PUEBLO – Outstanding educators from Colorado State University-Pueblo’s Teacher Education program will be honored at the inaugural Alumni Educator Hall of Fame induction and Alumni Teacher of the Year Awards on Thursday, March 2 at El Pueblo Museum, 301 N. Union Ave.

The event is co-sponsored by the Teacher Education Program and the Office of Alumni Relations. The cost is $10 per person, payable at the door. Check in begins at 5:30 p.m. following by dinner at 6 p.m. and the awards presentation.

According to CSU-Pueblo Student Teaching and Field Experience Director Jeremiah Blaha, the department wanted to celebrate alumni who have made outstanding achievements in the educational field, particularly in Colorado. The Hall of Fame is reserved for alumni who have demonstrated 15+ years of outstanding achievement in the field of education. A wall containing photographs and short biographies will be dedicated in the coming months.

The Alumni Teacher of the Year awards aim to recognize recent graduates who are making an impact on the youth of Colorado. This award recognizes educators who are actively teaching and demonstrating “boots on the ground” commitment to the youth of Colorado. Blaha said initial nominations were submitted by from peers, principals, and from Teacher Education Program faculty, but he hopes to expand that to parents, current and former students and the general public.

Blaha said he hopes the awards and events will increase educator/teacher alumni participation, celebrate the work of dedicated individuals, who have given their careers to improving the education of students, and to highlight the work of the strong graduates the Teacher Education Program is educating for the future workforce.

This year’s Alumni Teacher of the Year Awards will be presented to:

  • High School: Kevin Buchanan, Central High School, STEM Teacher, graduate of our Teacher in Residence and M.Ed program.
  • Middle School: Yvonne Lanning, Science, Risley International, graduate of our undergraduate program, and currently enrolled in the M.Ed program.
  • Elementary: Gina Mattivi: Sunset Park Elementary, graduate of our undergraduate program, and M.Ed program.

The inaugural class of the Alumni Educator Hall of Fame will include:

  • William (Bill) Bregar, A71, former teacher, principal, and school board member for Pueblo County Schools D70
  • Carmen Avalos, A94,  former teacher, and current principal, in Pueblo County Schools D70
  • Henry Gonzales, A75, former teacher, principal, administrator for Pueblo City Schools
  • Henry Roman, A69, former teacher, principal, administrator for Pueblo City Schools

For more information, contact Blaha @ 719.549.2279 or via email at

Colorado State University - Pueblo is committed to excellence, setting the standard for regional comprehensive universities in teaching, research, and service by providing leadership and access for its region, while maintaining its commitment to diversity.

Discover CSU Pueblo

students studying in LARC

Request more information about our degree programs, activities, sports, application process, and more!

Request Information

Register for Classes

two students smiling

Attend an Enrollment Extravaganza for quick-and-easy, one-stop registration and a chance to win a scholarship!

Back to Top