Back to Top

CSU-Pueblo Announces 2015 Math Day Competition Results

Release Date: November 20, 2015

Cora Zaletel

Executive Director, External Affairs

Colorado State University-Pueblo


Press Release

PUEBLO - The Department of Mathematics and Physics at Colorado State University-Pueblo has announced the results from the 38th Annual Math Day Swanson and Math Bowl competitions, held on campus Thursday, Nov. 19. More than 225 students from 22 high schools participated in Math Day activities, including Air Academy, Antonito, Bessemer Academy, Canon City, Centauri, Center, Coronado, Crowley County, Doherty, Florence, Fountain-Fort Carson, La Junta, Pine Creek, Pueblo Academy of Arts, Pueblo Centennial, Pueblo Central, Pueblo West, Rampart, Rocky Ford, Rye, Swallows Charter Academy, and Swink. In addition to participating in the competitions, students were able to visit biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, and physiology laboratories and demonstrations. 

The Swanson Competition was named after Clarence Swanson, a long-time chair of the math department.  The in-depth, problem-solving, written test offers students from Southern Colorado high schools the opportunity to vie for six trophies.  Of the 203 students to take the exam, the top six contestants are listed below in rank order with the highest listed first followed by the student’s high school:

    1. Amy Wang Pine Creek High School

    2. Sam Wolyn Rye High School 

    1. Varun Roy Rampart High School

    1. Daniel Kim Rampart High School

    1. Justin Dieter Pine Creek High School

  1. Bradley Ma Pine Creek High School

The following Swanson Competition contestants earned honorable mention.  The students are listed by home town, then alphabetically by last name followed by their high schools:

Canon City
Chad Haunschild  - Canon City High School
Rachael Lamman - Canon City High School

Colorado Springs
Remahl Aljumaan - Pine Creek High School
Alexandro Choi - Pine Creek High School
Spencer Furgerson - Coronado High School
Stacy Hayes - Coronado High School
Jackson Kulik - Air Academy High School
Kyle Reeves - Coronado High School
Titus Sharman - Coronado High School

Crowley County
Michael Gump - Crowley County High School

Dylan Shapiro - Centennial High School 
Anthony Sun - Pueblo West High School
Eric Sun - Pueblo West High School

Rocky Ford
Joey Von Feldt - Rocky Ford High School

The Math Bowl Competition requires two three-person teams to go head-to-head in a 15-minute race for points.  Each team alternately is given a mathematical question and has 25 seconds to respond.  The team with the most points then goes to the semi-final round to determine the winner. Winning teams proceed through the bracket to the final round.

The 2015 Math Bowl winner is Pine Creek, featuring team members Justin Dieter, Bradley Ma, and Amy Wang.  Rocky Ford placed second with team members Veronika Viescas, Joey Von Feldt, and Amber Dannar.  Semifinalists were Rampart with team members Varun Roy, Calvert Bystroff, and Daniel Kim, and Swallows Charter Academy with team members Alex Young, Acacia Nettles, and Jennie Ann West. Consolation went to Rye High School with team members Sam Wolyn, Gabe Slade, and Sarah Lesser. 

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.

Summer 2022

Two students leaving the OSC

$500 Scholarship Opportunity

Advising for summer courses is open. New and current students are eligible for a $500 summer scholarship if enrolled in 9 or more summer credits. 

Summer Scholarship Interest Form

Schedule Advising

Registration is Open

Student smiling at camera

Registration for both summer and fall courses is open for continuing students. Students can register for classes in self-service Banner or reference the following instructions and resources.

Back to Top