Back to Top

CSU-Pueblo forensics team opens season in Missouri

Release Date: September 22, 2015

Cora Zaletel

Executive Director, External Affairs

Colorado State University-Pueblo


Press Release

PUEBLO – The Colorado State University-Pueblo forensics team started the fall season with some outstanding results and will co-host along with the Air Force Academy and Colorado College 22 other collegiate teams this weekend at the General Harold “Pete” Todd Memorial Tournament on the CSU-Pueblo campus.  

The team found some things to boast about at its opening tournament at William Jewell College in Liberty, MO

  • Eliana Taylor, junior from Longmont, CO, and Max Groznink, freshman from Lake Oswego, OR, obtained a 5-3 record in preliminary rounds, securing a top 20 finish among over 100 debaters from across the country. Groznink and Taylor secured wins against teams Mizzou, William Jewell College, Loyola University-Chicago before heading to elimination rounds. They barely missed advancing to octofinals, losing on a 2-1 in double-octofinals.

  • Groznink, a first-year debater, was awarded 4th speaker among all first years, an amazing accomplishment for his first college debate tournament

On Sept. 26-27, the Forensics Team will host nearly 200 students from 22 other universities on the CSU-Pueblo campus in a tournament co-sponsored by CSU-Pueblo, the Air Force Academy, and Colorado College. Volunteers with speech and debate experience are needed. Contact Kathryn Starkey at​ if interested and available to assist, or just  ​come and watch students compete throughout the weekend, beginning at 8 a.m. on Saturday. Spectators and volunteers can go to the first floor of the General Classroom Building to receive a schedule and the locations of the debates and individual events across campus.

“This is a wonderful opportunity to show the forensics community our school and the growth of our program,” Starkey said.

Competing schools include: Central Wyoming College (Riverton, WY), Clemson University (Clemson, SC), Colorado Christian University (Lakewood, CO), CSU- Pueblo, Howard Payne University (Brownwood, TX), Louisiana Tech University (Ruston, LA), Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff , AZ), Northwest College (Powell, WY), Oklahoma City University (Oklahoma City, OK), Regis University (Denver, CO), San Diego State University (San Diego, CA), Texas State University (San Marcos, TX), Texas Tech U (Lubbock, TX), The Colorado College (Colorado Springs, CO), United States Air Force Academy (CO), University of Alaska Anchorage (Anchorage, AK), University of Denver (Denver, CO), University of La Verne (La Verne , CA), University of Missouri - Columbia (Columbia, MO), University of Utah, University of Vermont (Burlington, VT), Western Wyoming Community College (Rock Springs, WY), and Wheaton College (Wheaton, IL).

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.

Vaccination Requirement and Exemptions

Student wearing face mask

The university's COVID-19 Vaccination Policy includes the COVID-19 vaccination unless an exemption is filed.

Back to Top