Back to Top

University History

Colorado State University - Pueblo was originally founded in 1933 and briefly named San Isabel Junior College before founders settled on Southern Colorado Junior College. Classes took place on the top floor of the Pueblo County Courthouse. The "Class of '35" graduated 17 students. In 1936, the first building at the Orman Avenue campus site was donated by the Colorado Fuel and Iron Corporation (CF&I). One year later, local citizens decided to support the institution with county taxes. They organized the Pueblo County Junior College District and the institution was renamed Pueblo Junior College (PJC). In 1951, PJC became the first accredited junior college in Colorado.

In 1963, the Colorado General Assembly enacted legislation changing PJC to Southern Colorado State College (SCSC). SCSC received accreditation in 1966 and was governed by the Board of Trustees of State Colleges.

By then, four buildings had been erected at the new campus north of Pueblo's Belmont residential district. On July 1, 1975, the state legislature granted the institution university status and SCSC became the University of Southern Colorado. Three years later, the State Board of Agriculture assumed governance. In 1986, the University of Southern Colorado, Colorado State University and Fort Lewis College joined to form the Colorado State University System. July 1, 2003, the University of Southern Colorado became Colorado State University-Pueblo.

Flags in International Student Office

Center for International Programs Transition

We have a new team focused on international student welfare and success at CSU-Pueblo. Find answers to your questions regarding VISAs, scholarships, and more throughout our transition.

Back to Top